Fear-less

I saw these questions on the home page:

How would your life be different if you were incapable of feeling fear? Would your life be better or worse than it is now?

and thought I’d give them a ‘think’, then give you my response… so here goes…

Yes, my life would be much different, if I was fear-less I would have to stop to think so that I could respond correctly rather than react to a bad situation.  Why?  I wouldn’t want to put myself or others in greater danger.

Being fear-less is not the same as being filled with wisdom, courage or bravery.  Just because I’m fear-less doesn’t mean I have smarts.  Just because I’m fear-less doesn’t mean I will act appropriately when I’m faced with something outside of my comfort zone, which is either challenging or dangerous especially when it is danger involving myself or to those around me.

So, this having been said, sometimes a gut reaction to a situation is worse than taking a moment to think something through, even though it may look as if I’m being a coward at first.  The “something” which I’m facing, especially if it’s dangerous and involves others, demands a high respect for the lives of the individuals involved.  “Just don’t stand there, DO SOMETHING!” doesn’t apply in these situations.

Being fear-less doesn’t mean I’m going to quickly come up with the right strategy to work through the situation I’m facing.  Therefore, my first fear-less reaction to a given situation may be one of total stupidity or ignorance – in other words, the wrong one.  Thereby making a worse mess of things in an already precarious situation.  I may even end up adding to the number of those who need help by placing myself in their midst as another victim.

My supposition to the second question would be that it would probably be better, in that I would be required to pay better attention to details, experiences of others in precarious situations, be more aware of circumstances and surroundings, learn much more about problem solving and doing so quickly/efficiently, and using my imagination more often to simple and complex riddles in life.

I would have to stay on my toes and bring forth much more effort in school and all life or work situations where I am put in a classroom or group situation with others to resolve problems such as:

  1. “You are a prison guard, you unlock the solid door to a cell and walk in observing there are no windows or furniture.  Inside the cell you find a large puddle on the floor, above puddle there is a body with a belt around its neck hanging from the ceiling.  The person who’s hanging there is dead, how could the person have hanged themselves?”
  2. “There are five people sitting at the table and on a plate in the middle of the table there are three cookies.  Everyone wants a cookie, please divide the three cookies equally so that each person gets the same amount of cookies.”
  3. An Apollo Thirteen situation of life and death where a group has to use a sock, duct tape, etc. to save the groups’ life.

The truth is, I believe I would have to become a “McGuyver” of sorts to remain fear-less.  My brain would have been better exercised from early on in life.  I would have been trained early to remain calm cool and collected in stressful situations, and my brain would be able to be stretched to new awareness and it would be more teachable throughout the rest of my life.  I don’t think this would be such a terrible thing for anyone to become as problem solving is a key factor for life in general.

  …………………………………………………………………….. 
Have you met a person who is quick to answer? There is more hope for a fool than for him.